Books books books!

Been quite the week in terms of books. Got hold of a copy of Stolen for the first time and the excitement was quite something. Unfortunately I didn’t capture the moment on camera like Helen Cadbury. But it all suddenly felt quite real and not some weird dream.

Also been struggling with book number two for a few weeks but finally had a breakthrough today and sat at the laptop for hours without finding any really urgent housework that needed doing. If you live within a few miles of me you’ve probably heard my moans of frustration and proclamations that re-writing and editing is so much harder than writing something from scratch. At the moment I’m still sticking with this but when I begin on book three in a few months I’ll probably retract that statement. The grass is always greener…

And finally, the lack of doing any of my own work over the bank holiday weekend meant I could spend all day and night reading Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life.  If you haven’t read it already I urge you to get a copy. It’s the best book I’ve read in a long time (and I’ve read a few good ‘uns recently). One of those books that you can’t stop reading but never want to end. If I ever write something as beautiful and compelling as Atkinson does I’ll be a very happy writer.

Leave a Reply

