June I’ll go out. July I’ll catch up on TV.

f moth author helen cadbury with her book TO CATCH A RABBIT

On Thursday night fellow Moth author Michael Donovan had a book launch for his brilliant debut Behind Closed Doors. I wish I’d been able to get there as it looked like everyone had a fantastic time, including Helen Cadbury who joined Michael as he very kindly plugged her book too. Thanks to Odette Rigby for the photo.

Tomorrow will kick off an epic month of events to promote Stolen with the official launch of Moth Publishing at Waterstones, Newcastle. The event will include a reading by Alfie Crow from his novel Rant, and all four Moth writers will be in attendance.

For someone who thought (mistakenly) that writing was a solitary pursuit and whose evenings are usually spent watching TV – frequently re-runs of American sitcoms – all this gallivanting around the north-east is something of a culture shock. I have to admit the thought of my own book launch at Guisborough Bookshop on Tuesday night has kept me awake for the past few nights. But like so many scary things, I’m sure it’ll be less frightening in reality than it is in my imagination (I am a crime writer after all).

After I’ve calmed down after Tuesday’s launch it’s on to York on Wednesday for Helen Cadbury’s launch for To Catch A Rabbit. I’m really looking forward to this because the book is so good. It’ll be great to hear Helen read.

Then I get a few days off before things kick off again with a photo shoot in North Tyneside, some media training at the BBC (more sleepless nights ahead, I’m sure), an event with the lovely Mari Hannah at Hartlepool library on 19th June, and one at Middlesbrough Literary Festival on Friday 21st June with Helen Cadbury and Alfie Crow. Then it’s off to London the week after to mingle with other writers, editors and agents.

There’s plenty more lined up in later months but hopefully I’ll have time to relax a little and catch up on TV watching before Harrogate at the end of July. Oh, and I should probably spend a little time on the second book too!

Leave a Reply

